OAY Spotlight: First shirt makes major impression

  • Published
  • By Airman 1st Class Alexandra Singer
  • 633rd Air Base Wing Public Affairs

Air Combat Command recently presented awards for the Outstanding Airmen of the Year to recognize the best Airmen in ACC.

One of the Airmen recognized was the ACC First Sergeant OAY, U.S. Air Force Master Sgt. Simorrah Majors, 363rd Intelligence, Surveillance Reconnaissance wing first sergeant.

“Master Sgt. Majors deserved the OAY award because of her relentless dedication to make sure that she does her job to the best of her ability, and makes sure to always do anything she can to help her Airmen,” said U.S. Air Force Senior Airman James Pleasant, 17th Intelligence Squadron non-kinetic targeting analyst.


Part of why Majors earned the award was because she truly shows that she cares.


Majors intervened with an active suicide attempt, and saved the member's life. She also organized a safe haven, and led refuge for a family that was involved in an illicit event, and removed five family members from a hostile environment.


The Airmen that she advises trust her whole-heartedly because of the time she invests in making sure they are heard.


“She understands that in order for airmen to trust and depend on [first sergeants] leadership we have to be comfortable speaking to them while knowing that we are being heard and invested in, and not just tolerated or chastised for our thoughts,” said U.S. Air Force Senior Airman Christopher Johnson, 17th Intelligence Squadron intelligence analyst.

Majors hopes to make Chief one day, and be able to wear the diamond while doing so, and impact more Airmen’s lives.

“The impact I hope to have on Airmen is really for them to know their own impact... in their units, in their families, in the lives of others and in the Air Force,” said Majors.  “If, by my actions, our Airmen know how much they matter to the success of this nation and they operate from that perspective, I’ve done my job at the end of the day.”


The winners of the ACC OAY will compete at the U.S. Air Force level with all other MAJCOMS to determine the Air Force Outstanding Airmen of the Year.