ACC units

As a force provider, ACC organizes, trains, equips and maintains combat-ready forces for rapid deployment and employment while ensuring strategic air defense forces are ready to meet the challenges of peacetime air sovereignty and wartime air defense. ACC numbered air forces provide air componency to U.S. Central and Southern Commands with Headquarters ACC serving as the air component to U.S. Northern and Joint Forces Commands. ACC also augments forces to U.S. European, Pacific and Strategic Commands.


ACC's forces are organized under a direct reporting unit, two numbered air forces and one Air Force Reserve numbered air force. The command operates 14 major installations and supports tenant units on numerous non-ACC bases around the globe. ACC also has responsibility for inland search and rescue in the 48 contiguous states. The ACC commander is the component commander of U.S. Air Forces - Joint Forces Command and U.S. Strategic Command.

Numbered Air Forces

First Air Force, or Air Forces Northern, with headquarters at Tyndall AFB, Fla., has responsibility for ensuring the air sovereignty and air defense of the continental United States, U.S. Virgin Islands and Puerto Rico. As the continental United States Region, or CONR, for the North American Aerospace Defense Command, or NORAD, 1 AF (AFNORTH) provides air defense in the form of airspace surveillance and airspace control. First AF is also the designated air component for U.S. Northern Command.

AFNORTH rapidly responds to non-military threats under the Defense Support to Civil Authorities, or DSCA, mission. The organization assists civilian agencies before and during emergencies, natural or man-made disasters, and other Department of Defense-approved activities. Operating with the 601st Air and Space Operations Center, the Air Force Rescue Coordination Center serves as the U.S. inland search and rescue coordinator and is the single agency responsible for coordinating on-land federal searches. These search and rescue operations can be conducted anywhere in the 48 states, Mexico and Canada. The Civil Air Patrol is a significant partner in search and rescue and other DSCA missions.

Other First Air Force (AFNORTH) units include the 601st Air and Space Operations Center, the 702nd Computer Support Squadron and the Air Force Rescue Coordination Center at Tyndall AFB, the Northeast Air Defense Sector in Rome, N.Y.; the Western Air Defense Sector at McChord AFB, Wash.; Det. 1, 1 AF, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada, and 722nd Air Defense Squadron, North Bay, Canada.

119th Fighter Wing, Hector Field, Fargo, N.D.: MQ-1, C-21
Det. 1, 119 Fighter Wing, Langley AFB, Va.: F-16C
120th Fighter Wing, Great Falls International Airport, Mont.: F-16
125th Fighter Wing, Jacksonville IAP, Fla.: F-15
Det. 1, 125 Fighter Wing, Homestead Air Reserve Station, Fla.
142nd Fighter Wing, Portland IAP, Ore.: F-15
144th Fighter Wing, Fresno Air National Guard Base, Calif.: F-16
Det. 1, 144 Fighter Wing, March Air Reserve Base, Calif.
147th Fighter Wing, Ellington ANG Base, Texas: MQ-1, C-26
148th Fighter Wing, Duluth IAP, Minn.: F-16
158th Fighter Wing, Burlington IAP, Vt.: F-16
177th Fighter Wing, Atlantic City IAP, N.J.: F-16
101st Information Operations Flight, Salt Lake City IAP, Utah

Ninth Air Force, with headquarters at Shaw Air Force Base, S.C., is dedicated to organizing, training, and equipping Air Combat Command fighter forces based throughout the Southeastern United States. Ninth Air Force comprises eight active-duty wings and two direct reporting units with more than 480 aircraft and 28,000 active-duty and civilian personnel. Ninth Air Force is also responsible for the operational readiness of 14 Air Reserve Component wings.

Ninth Air Force units include:
1st Fighter Wing, Joint Base Langley-Eustis, Va.
4th Fighter Wing, Seymour Johnson AFB, N.C.
20th Fighter Wing, Shaw AFB, S.C.
23d Wing, Moody AFB, Ga.
93d Air-Ground Operations Wing, Moody AFB, Ga.
325th Fighter Wing, Tyndall AFB, Fla.
461st Air Control Wing, Robins AFB, Ga.
633d Air Base Wing, Joint Base Langley-Eustis, Va.
823rd Red Horse Squadron, Hurlburt Field, Fla.
819th Red Horse Squadron, Malmstom AFB, Mont.

Tenth Air Force, located at Naval Air Station Joint Reserve Base, Fort Worth, Texas, directs the activities of more than 13,300 reservists and 900 civilians located at 28 installations throughout the United States.

The mission of the 10th Air Force is to exercise command supervision of its assigned Reserve units to ensure they maintain the highest combat capability to augment active forces in support of national objectives. Tenth Air Force currently commands Air Force Reserve Command units gained by five other major commands, including Air Combat Command. ACC-gained units consist of six fighter wings, three air rescue units, one bomber squadron, one combat operations squadron, and one airborne warning and control group when mobilized.

Twelfth Air Force, with headquarters at Davis-Monthan AFB, Ariz., controls ACC's conventional fighter and bomber forces based in the western United States and has the warfighting responsibility for U.S. Southern Command as well as the U.S. Southern Air Forces.

Other 12th Air Force units include: 388th Fighter Wing (F-16C/D), Hill AFB, Utah; 1st Air Support Operations Group, Fort Lewis, Wash; and 820th RED HORSE Squadron, Nellis AFB, Nev.

Davis-Monthan AFB, Ariz. -- Headquarters 12th Air Force; 355th Wing: A/OA-10 EC-130H
Holloman AFB, N.M. -- 49th Wing: MQ-1, MQ-9, T-38
Mountain Home AFB, Idaho -- 366th Fighter Wing: F-15E, Singapore F-15SG
Beale AFB, Calif. -- 9th Reconnaissance Wing: U-2, T-38, RQ-4B
Offutt AFB, Neb. - 55th Wing: E-4B, EC-130, OC-135B, RC-135S/U/V/W, TC-135S/W, WC-135C/W
Tinker AFB, Okla. - 552nd Air Control Wing: E3-B/C
Creech AFB, Nev. - 432nd Wing: MQ-1, MQ-9
Hill AFB, Utah - 388th Fighter Wing: F-35A
Direct Reporting Unit

Sixteenth Air Force (Air Forces Cyber), headquartered at Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, Texas, is the first-of-its-kind Numbered Air Force. Also known as the Air Force’s Information Warfare Numbered Air Force, the 16th integrates multisource intelligence, surveillance, and reconnaissance, cyber warfare, electronic warfare, and information operations capabilities across the conflict continuum to ensure that our Air Force is fast, lethal and fully integrated in both competition and in war. Sixteenth Air Force (Air Forces Cyber) provides mission integration of IW at operational and tactical levels … recognizing the role of information in creating dilemmas for adversaries in competition and, if necessary, future conflicts.

Sixteenth Air Force units include:
9th Reconnaissance Wing, Beale Air Force Base, Calif.
55th Wing, Offutt Air Force Base, Neb.
67th Cyberspace Wing, Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, Texas
70th ISR Wing, Fort George G. Meade, Md.
319th Reconnaissance Wing, Grand Forks AFB, N.D.
363d ISR Wing, Langley Air Force Base, Va.
480th ISR Wing, Langley Air Force Base, Va.
557th Weather Wing, Offutt Air Force Base, Neb.
688th Cyberspace Wing, Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, Texas
Air Force Technical Applications Center, Patrick Air Force Base, Fla.
Air Force Cryptologic Office, Fort George G. Meade, Md.
616th Operations Center, Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, Texas

U.S. Air Forces Central Command (AFCENT)
U.S. Air Forces Central Command is the air component of United States Central Command, a regional unified command. AFCENT is responsible for air operations (either unilaterally or in concert with coalition partners) and developing contingency plans in support of national objectives for USCENTCOM's 20-nation area of responsibility in Southwest Asia. Additionally, AFCENT manages an extensive supply and equipment prepositioning program at several area of responsibilities sites.